Vampyr – Cry Out for Metal

When I was still studying, I used to frequent this place in Manila where I look for second hand stuff like tapes, cds and even records. This is the place where you could get a good bargain, some ok, some even rare. You find the interesting stuff at the most unexpected places, I will attest to that. And this is the place. At one of my trips there in my adolescent years, I got a hold of a copy of this heavy metal band’s album. Very interesting band name: Vampyr. It would be more interesting if it’s pronounced Vahm-peer, hehe. What could be cheesier than that? I bought it and listened to it and found it rather uhmm, amusing and entertaining. It became a frequent visitor in my tape player until somehow I found out that I actually am liking it, sorta. Surprisingly the most flexible if there ever was one, haha. Somewhere I lost that tape and didn’t even tried to find it, never knew that it was even missing. And then I found a link to download the whole album somewhere in the net. And now I’m sharing the experience to you. After all these years, I still find it amusing and entertaining. Well, in fairness to this band, they actually play decent in their own rights. Good guitar playing; melody, rhythm, fine drumming. Not a very good production, but not that bad either. I just want to bring back those memories when I was still an experimenting brat. Try listening to some of the tracks and see for yourself.

Vampyr – The Oath/Sinner

Vampyr – Metal Hymn ’86

Vampyr – Mercy Killing

Vampyr – Vampyr

Like what you hear? Get the whole album HERE and start headbangin’!! I guess I should add a “metal” category now huh?

2 responses

  1. flatblackcapo

    thanks for the time and effort you put into this blog.

    April 16, 2008 at 6:25 am

  2. myfatetohate

    And thanks for taking the time to visit and leave a comment. Do visit regularly, there’s more to come. Cheers!

    April 16, 2008 at 10:59 pm

Leave a Reply

