VA – Blasting Concept Compilation

Here’s the first part of my 2-part Lp-only-release (that I know of) post for today. This is a classic compilation released by SST. All tracks from this album were previously released when this came out so some might say that this is kinda redundant. I say that if you can’t find all the albums where the songs were taken, then this is the best alternative.

Good listen from start to finish, except maybe for the slow Meat Puppets track. The first time I was turned on to Hüsker Dü was through ‘Real World’ and it was in this album that I heard it. Pretty much different than most HD songs I might add. And that Overkill song is a killer. ‘Hell’s is getting Hotter’ is, in my opinion, among the tunes that has the best rhythm in hardcore music. Then there’s the Black Flag “trilogy” here, offering a different singer on each song. And that wicked track by Saccharine Trust?! Quite slow yes, but it’s one of the better songs on this compilation in my opinion. Very haunting voice, and very good melody too. I have that classic full length album and I will post that one in the future. In the meantime, I recommend you grab this piece of classic compilation if you still don’t have one. This is a part of history, folks.

* album photo courtesy of KFTH

VA – Blasting Concept – An SST Compilation

2 responses

  1. There is a second Blasting Concept right? It has the minutemen covering Van Halen if I remember right. And Husker Du does a song called “Erase Today”….?

    May 12, 2008 at 4:20 pm

  2. myfatetohate

    Yes, I’ve heard of that 2nd Blasting Concept Album, unfortunately haven’t sampled it yet. I know of a friend who has a copy, maybe I can ask him for a copy and maybe post it here. Thanks for dropping by!

    May 13, 2008 at 4:20 am

Leave a Reply

