The Accüsed – More Fun Than an Open Casket Funeral

From the original purveyors of Splatter Rock comes this piece of vinyl that could very well be their best offering. I had this on recorded tape once and I found it so fuckin’ good that I couldn’t resist owning the record itself. When a good friend from the US finally got me a copy back then, it took almost a year before I laid my hands on it. Imagine the everyday eagerness I was getting killed for, hehe. Nevertheless, the wait was surely worth it.

Great guitar sound here, especially on ‘Bethany Home’, ‘Rape’, ‘Devil Woman’ and ‘Judgement Day’ (w/c is a cover I think because it was originally recorded by the Fartz, Blaine’s former band). Good pacing on the tracks too, some fast, some slow, all good ones. Well, except maybe for the last track. That was the let down. Kinda catchy though but morbid. Well, it’s splatter rock so what would you expect, right?

In my opinion, the difference between this and ‘Return of Martha Splatterhead’ is that this has more substance. Don’t get me wrong now, I also like that album but this is far more “wee-cked”. But that’s just me. Anyways, grab this piece of beauty or else! That said, I’m outta here for the moment. Cheers!

The Accüsed – More Fun than an Open Casket Funeral

5 responses

  1. This IS their best record. Without a doubt.

    April 30, 2008 at 6:57 am

  2. myfatetohate

    Couldn’t agree more.

    May 1, 2008 at 11:25 pm

  3. brian

    Thanks for this post, I used to love these guys.
    great site.

    May 4, 2008 at 3:01 am

  4. myfatetohate

    No problem, it’s always my pleasure to have visitors who comment, hehe. Thanks for that and feel free to come back anytime you want! Cheers

    May 5, 2008 at 4:33 am

  5. Andrew

    Great album, although the production kinda sucked. I remember the original demo’s sounding way better than the album tracks.

    December 22, 2009 at 8:52 am

Leave a Reply

