Dead Ends – Mamatay sa Ingay

Heto naaaa!!!!

After a long wait, finally here’s Dead Ends’ last album entitled Mamatay sa Ingay. Unlike their 3 previous albums, this release is more of a metal project rather than a punk one. Even if you haven’t heard of it yet, the cover clearly show that this album is influenced by metal. It features a long-haired person sporting a Slayer tee covering his ears (while screaming?).

Utilizing a second guitarist in Lourd de Veyra, this release boasts of fast and thrashy tracks sung in the vernacular, clearly unlike any you’ve heard of at the time this album came out. Very original. While all tracks here are fine, I still go with the powerful Wasteland and Mga Gago Lang, the anthemic (Ano nga ba ang) Kalayaan, the very tangible Pulis! Pulis! and the brilliant Tumayo at Lumaban. To me this is the ultimate pinoy thrash metal song. If you happen to hear the English version of this killer, you’d probably know what I’m talking about.

When Al, Harley and Jay re-grouped sometime ago for the Joan Lombard Gig, LA 105 featured and interviewed them together with the WUDS. Their playlist in that show included an English version of Tumayo at Lumaban entitled Toy Soldiers and the English version of Wasteland. I think Toy Soldiers was included on the Dead Ends compilation album Chosen. I know you have to love your own, but I tell you that those versions are unbelievably brilliant. Speed, power and melody: ingredients of a typical thrash metal masterpiece. I still have to scour for my copy of that radio show but in the meantime, sink yer teeth first at this Pinoy metal onslaught.

PS: Goddamn internet connection runs like a sloth these past few days so bear with me, my apologies for only having a few new posts, ok? Til next time!

Dead Ends – Mamatay sa Ingay

13 responses

  1. Sir, maraming salamat dito. Teka, english version ng tumayo at lumaban at ng wasteland? Wow. Gusto ko yun marinig. I’m gonna ask Boss Al Dimalanta about that. He’s my contact in multiply. Hehe. Thanks again, sir.

    October 13, 2008 at 10:59 pm

  2. myfatetohate

    Anytime Mark! Still looking for my copy of that radio show though. It’s not really of good quality (galing AM kse eh), pero pede na. Hataw un bro. Try to look for DE’s compilation album CHOSEN kung ala ka pa, baka meron pa si Al nun, andun ung Toy Soldiers (I think). And thanks for dropping by! Cheers!

    October 14, 2008 at 4:35 am

  3. According to boss Al, Soldier Song yung title nung Tumayo at Lumaban at Wasteland na talaga yung Wasteland. And it was recorded when they’re still trio(Al, Jay, Harley) para sa compilation ni Tom T. na hindi natuloy.

    October 14, 2008 at 2:55 pm

  4. And yes, nasa Chosen album daw yung Soldier Song. San pa kaya pede makai-score nung Chosen na yun. Hmmm…

    October 14, 2008 at 2:59 pm

  5. myfatetohate

    Honga, Soldier Song nga pala un, hehe. Nabanggit ko na kay Al dati ung tungkol sa kopya ko na un sa Timebomb yahoogroups when it was still very active. I don’t think he still remembers it, matagal tagal na din un eh.

    Ung kopya ko ng Chosen napanalunan ko lang sa Timebomb Xmas party dati. I think the question was about Urban Bandits’ first name: College.

    Ung track na “Mamatay sa Ingay” lumabas din sa LA105.9 Compilation released sometime ago in tape format. It was simply entitled “Ingay”.

    October 15, 2008 at 2:31 am

  6. Wow, sir. Parinig naman nung Chosen. Pa-share naman. šŸ˜€

    October 15, 2008 at 3:07 pm

  7. myfatetohate

    Standby lang muna, Mark. Medyo mabagal mag-upload sa ngayon eh. Just keep on visiting and maybe one of these days eh maasikaso ko ang request mo. In the meantime, cheers!

    October 19, 2008 at 9:55 am

  8. I’m Like exchange link with you

    please visit my blog and tell me know If you like it

    pd: my inglish sucks, escuse me

    October 19, 2008 at 9:43 pm

  9. myfatetohate

    No need to apologize for yer English, it’s fine by me. And I would love to have your link at my sidebar. Cheers!

    PS: Mighty fine site you got there. Keep up the good work, man!

    October 20, 2008 at 11:30 am

  10. Ramon!

    Hey man just wanted to say thanks for the file haha! Sir Al’s my professor in UST, and I’ve been a fan since my elementary days coz of my uncles haha!

    Cheers!

    April 14, 2010 at 10:02 am

    • ACYB

      AL Dimalanta used to be CEO at Metrobank

      December 6, 2010 at 9:42 am

  11. YT links:
    Soldier Song – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7ISbwCNUpmc
    Wasteland (english) – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLKx-p8Fn0M

    August 7, 2011 at 5:45 pm

  12. rex!

    salamat dito sir!

    August 9, 2011 at 2:26 pm

Leave a Reply

